Celery Salad with Kale, Parmesan and Apples

When at first I was inspired to post another version of my favorite fall side, the ubiquitous Kale Salad, I felt as though there was nothing new to say on the topic.  What, really, can little ‘ole me add to all this kale chatter?

image

Not a whole lot, it turns out.  But really the beauty of this recipe lies not in the kale but in the celery.

Huh? Did I just say celery?  Hear me out.  Celery is that vegetable that I always end up tossing.  I buy it for one recipe, usually soup or marinara, and as good as my intentions are (the popular South Beach Diet snack with Laughing Cow cheese perhaps), I never manage to use it.  I’m betting this is a universal dilemma.

Enter Ina’s Celery and Parmesan Salad.  I started with her recipe and added the kale and apples since I was serving a crowd. And guess what. I managed to use all of my celery and create a healthy ( and dare I say refreshing?) side dish to go with Wendy’s baked pasta for our latest book club gathering.

This one’s a keeper folks.  I’ll never throw away celery again.

image

For the salad

  • 5 cups thinly sliced celery and chopped celery leaves
  • 3 large leaves thinly sliced kale
  • 1 apple, peeled, cored and thinly sliced
  • 2/3 cup walnuts, toasted
  • 1 lemon
  • shaved parmesan cheese

For the dressing

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon anchovy paste
  • 1 teaspoon celery seed
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

Start by very thinly slicing your celery.  I broke out my rarely used mandolin for this task but you could just use a very sharp knife.

Place in a bowl with a squeeze of lemon juice and a pinch of salt.  Allow to crisp in the fridge as you whisk the dressing ingredients together.  Pour enough of the dressing over the celery to coat and continue to crisp in the fridge while you shred the kale.

Add the kale to the celery and toss.

Just before serving, spread the celery and kale mixture on a platter and top with walnuts, sliced apples and Parmesan cheese.

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in salads and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celery Salad with Kale, Parmesan and Apples

  1. Sara Louise says:

    I am not normally a big salad fan but this one sounds hearty and delicious 🙂

  2. Liza M. says:

    It’s especially good with a heavier side dish, such as basically everything I eat in the fall!

Leave a Reply

