Zucchini Pie

IMG_2753

It may be fall on the calendar, but it’s still summer in my kitchen.  As much as I’m looking forward to soups, braises and cider-based dishes, I just can’t go there while temps are in the mid 70s.

And since zucchini, at least in these parts, is still in abundance in the farmers markets and the grocery stores, why not make use?

This particular version of zucchini goodness is from a Real Simple magazine recipe that I clipped years ago.  I hadn’t made it until this summer (opting instead for another one on the same page, a goat cheesey yellow squash custard) but lo and behold it’s been my favorite easy go-to side dish of the summer.  And it’s delicious warmed over.  Fortunately this one will play well into fall since it’s an oven baked dish that can be eaten straight from the oven, or made in advance to eat at room temperature.

IMG_2750

Zucchini Pie 

barely adapted from Real Simple magazine
  • 3 cups zucchini grated (about 2 medium)
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup grated provolone cheese
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup olive oil (or vegetable oil)
  • 4 tablespoons grated parmesan
  • 2 teaspoons basil, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Preheat oven to 350°.

Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl, reserving 1 tablespoon of the parmesan cheese.

Spoon into a 10 inch pie plate or a square casserole dish that has been coated with cooking spray.

Bake for 45-50 or until slightly browned.  Sprinkle the reserved parmesan over top and allow to cool for at least 10 minutes before serving.

 

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in sides, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Zucchini Pie

  1. Marina says:

    LIZA, I’ve been following your blog for sometime now. Your dad told me about Provence in Ann Arbor some time ago, (We worked together at DB and often talked of food and travel. I still see him occasionally when he comes to visit). This recipe sounds wonderful and I will try it soon.
    Looking forward to more blogs.
    Love your sense of humor 🙂
    Marina

  2. La Torontoise says:

    Liza, what a great idea for a Friday eve meal; thank you; I’m headed now home and will do it tonight!!
    Zucchini, organic and fresh from the market… can hardly wait…
    Have a great weekend!!

    • Liza M. says:

      I think you’re going to love it! It’s so good as leftovers also.

      > Date: Fri, 4 Oct 2013 14:20:08 +0000 > To: liza_bonner@hotmail.com >

      • La Torontoise says:

        Liza, work got very hectic, could not write earlier… Sorry.
        But in the meantime, I used this recipe 4times, and the result was consistently good. Love courgettes!!!

      • Liza M. says:

        Thanks so much for the feedback. As you may have noticed from the lack of posts, life got really hectic here too! I’ve got a couple of ideas lined up, just need to sit down and write them. Hope your school year is going well.

        Sent from my iPad

  3. Hmmm. I usually consider anything with the word “pie” in the title to be beyond my abilities… but this looks so good… and reasonably easy! Maybe this will be my first “pie”! I’ll keep you posted!

  4. Liza's Dad says:

    Folks on the blog
    My daughter Liza made this for me recently and Oh Boy! I can verify really good. Garden comfort food at it’s best. You can probably put other stuff in it too like herbs or experiment.

  5. Michel says:

    I have been looking forward to this post since you told me you would be sharing a zucchini pie recipe. We still have an abundance of zucchini and I will definitely try it out. It sure looks good! Thanks for sharing.

    • Liza M. says:

      I hope you like it Michel. I also added zucchini to turkey burgers the other night and they were delicious. I found the recipe for that one in Ottolengi’s Jerusalem cookbook.

      Sent from my iPad

  6. Vacation says:

    Looks and sounds delicious!!

  7. Wendy says:

    Looks wonderful! Now if I could just get my family excited about a dish with zucchini as the main ingredient:)

  8. shay hamer says:

    That looks so good! Once I am out of the hospital, I am going to make me some! I love your blog!

  9. sarainlepetitvillage says:

    Usually by now I can’t even look at another courgette, but this recipe looks pretty good 🙂

Leave a Reply

