Chicken and Apple Curry with Spinach

Recently I noticed bloggers are writing posts recapping the past year, and since I tend to be a follower, I thought I’d go ahead and do the same, if only to remind myself what a great year it was (full of travel, convivial get-togethers and food discoveries) even if the last couple of months were total merde (full of loss, sorrow and tears, she says without a hint of drama). Time to move on.  It’s 2013.

In February, S and I headed to his home state for some good eatin’ and family visiting. What a great time to be in the “Big Easy”-literally the day after Mardi Gras.

100_3575100_3618

Next up, a Spring break girls’ trip to another Frenchie destination, Montréal.

IMG_0466IMG_0355

And Québec.

IMG_0428IMG_0392

May brought many surprises, including a dear colleague’s birthday weekend on Kelley’s Island, in the middle of Lake Erie. It was a surprise for me because I never knew it was there. And so close to home.

IMG_0569

The end of the school year and beginning of summer always means that “Provence” is now open.  Beaucoup bites and beverages were consumed on the little patio in A2.

IMG_0751

The Fourth of July brings one of my favorite times of year: our annual family pilgrimage north. This year was so hot, the lavender goat cheese almost melted.

IMG_0877

And then there was France.

Paris…

IMG_0952IMG_0939

Provence…

IMG_1257IMG_1022IMG_1167

Lyon was brand new for me.  Its laid-back gourmet vibe suited me well. I’ll be back.

IMG_1364

And Annecy.  Also a new destination.  Bring on the fondue.

IMG_1440

There were of course many agreeable book club meetings, both conversationally and gastronomically.

IMG_1474

There was the favorite holiday of all, Thanksgiving, in Harbor Springs.

IMG_1841

There was Christmas, a white one finally, with plenty of family good will and comforting recipes.  None of which I posted.  I figure you were all “cranberried” out.

IMG_1957

And there are many new cookbooks to start the new year.  If you happen to be in need some simple, creative and delicious meals (who isn’t?), you probably need Jenny Rosenstrach’s Dinner: A Love Story.  It’s found a semi-permanent home on my kitchen counter for most of December, and now, a good bit of January as well.  Try her Chicken and Apple Curry.  I added spinach because I must have green in my winter meals. You could leave it out.  Either way, seriously.  Make this.

IMG_1933

Serves 6.  Adapted from Dinner: A Love Story.

  • 3  boneless skinless chicken breasts, chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 granny smith apples, peeled and diced
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1 pkg. frozen chopped spinach, thawed and dried
  • 1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger
  • 2 tablespoons curry (preferably Madras)
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil + extra for browning in batches

Garnishes

  • plain yogurt
  • chopped almonds, cashews or peanuts
  • chopped cilantro or mint
  • Naan or other flatbread (or heated flour tortillas)

1.  Start by thawing your spinach in the microwave.  Take off outer wrapping and place in a bowl covered with paper towel.  Microwave 5 minutes then check.  If it’s still a little frozen microwave on 1 minute intervals.  It can sit in the microwave while you make the curry.  Before adding to curry, squeeze dry in a kitchen towel (I reserve one for this purpose, because it stains a little).

2. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add onion and sauté about 2 minutes, until soft.

3. Add garlic, celery, apple and ginger. Sauté for another couple of minutes and stir in curry.

4. Push ingredients to one side of pan, add a little more oil and brown your chicken in batches, about 4 minutes per batch, turning pieces often. (I did this in 4 batches but this could vary depending on the amount of chicken and the size of your pan). Season each batch with salt and pepper. After each batch remove chicken to a plate.

5. After browning, add chicken and juices back to the pan and stir with the curried vegetables.  Add broth and coconut milk.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and cover to simmer for 10 minutes or so, until chicken is cooked.

6.  Add chopped dried spinach.

7.  Serve with garnishes and heated naan or other flatbread.  Even a tortilla will do.

IMG_1927

What will 2013 bring?  For me, a Spring Break trip to Brooklyn and the Hamptons is the only sure thing.  Next year when I write this recap post, I hope there will have been as much travel, good food and good times as 2012 provided.  Without the sorrow and tears, please.

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in Main dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Chicken and Apple Curry with Spinach

  1. Eileen says:

    How did you manage to go just about everywhere I’m jonesing to go, and all in one year besides? (Including Ann Arbor!) 🙂 Sounds like you had an amazing year!

    • Liza M. says:

      I did, thanks! But, lucky you, for living in California, so close to wine country and such. I think it’s on the destination list for summer of 2013.

  2. I had the same thought as Eileen- I must say I’m a little jealous of all your travel and travel plans! I agree, Lyon is not what you’d call an “exciting” town but I found it very pretty and it does have a reputation for being a great food city, although when I was there I was on a broke student budget. Are you familiar with the blog Lucy’s Kitchen Notebook? She lives there and I think she just opened a restaurant or cooking school or something.

    • Liza M. says:

      I have seen that blog. I think it’s a cooking school that she opened. Also, I think I was so charmed by Lyon, because after almost 20 trips to France, I had never been there. It was time.

  3. megtraveling says:

    Your pictures are beautiful and you did a lot of traveling! I’m going to France this May so I especially liked your French pictures… 🙂

  4. Oh i love seeing pictures of montreal 🙂 i spent a lot of time there with my job back in the day and i really miss the city (ok…mostly the shopping and food haha!) 🙂 looks like you had a super exciting year! stoked to see what 2013 has in store for you!

  5. La Torontoise says:

    Liza, happy New Year! I just returned from France a few days ago, trying to catch up with things.
    I recognized the streetcar in New Orleans; it’s the dearest-to-my-heart destination in the States. Was considered a luxury to be able to leave the icy-cold Canadian winter and arrive there mid-March.

    Montreal brings so many warm memories to me as well. While leaving in Toronto, I’ve been thinking of Montreal as the Paris of Canada, the food paradise de la belle province… Just called a friend there a minute ago, it’s minus 13 degrees Celsius right now in Montreal (7 F); winter can be a pretty harsh experience, but food is exceptional, and dramatically redefines how the cold feels

    And when do you plan your next trip to France?

    • Liza M. says:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the pictures! Well, I’d love to go back to France of course, but as a teacher, it’s hard to go in fall or spring when the price is right. This year I think I’m staying on the North American continent and, gasp, in the US. I don’t think I’ll use my passport at all! 😦

  6. Sara Louise says:

    Those oysters have my mouth watering!
    And I’m so happy you liked Lyon. I’ve only been once but loved it and cannot wait to go back!

  7. Senorita says:

    Hi there,

    Just happened to stumble upon your blog… I really love it!! I see you are a teacher like me and like me, you take advantage of our wonderful vacation time and travel. Unfortunately, 2013 is non passport year for me, unless something changes.. But, I can’t complain. Living in NYC makes up for it 🙂

    Love your pics, especially of France. I was years and years ago, and I have this deep desire to one day return.. Only time will tell!!

    ladyonaroof.com/

    • Liza M. says:

      Thank you for the positive comments Senorita! Well we have one thing in common in that I don’t think I’ll be using my passport in 2013 either. However, I am coming to NYC in April.

Leave a Reply

