Kale Salad

I’ve been trying to come up with a way to get back to this blog without explaining, because I’m sure it would bore you to tears, my absence.  The only inspiration I can come up with lately involves the food I’ve been obsessing over eating.  So, if you don’t mind and without further ado, I present Kale Salad.

IMG_1884

If last year was all about the Kale Chip (which I’m still on the fence about), this year, for me, has been all about the Kale Salad.  I’ve been making it most often as a healthy side, usually following a bout of overindulgence. After Thanksgiving, however, it became my savior dinner.  It reset me.  I’m making it today, too, to start the New Year out on a healthy note (and to balance the leftover goodness called Jenny’s Pork Ragu).

IMG_1870

Rather than give you a precise recipe, I’ll present some ideas for turning this healthy and leafy green into a delicious and not at all healthy tasting dish.  The most important components are, aside from the kale, which should be shredded (to do so simply fold in half, cut out the stem and very thinly slice), a sweetish vinaigrette, a fruit, a nut, and a crumbly cheese.  So far, I haven’t made the exact same salad twice.  It depends on what I have on hand and how much energy I have.  Sometimes, I even add roasted squash, as pictured, but usually not.  Here’s a sample recipe.

  • 1 bunch kale, or combo kale and romaine (or even shredded napa cabbage or radicchio)
  • 1 apple (or avocado, chopped dried cranberries, cherries and/or roasted squash)
  • 1/4 cup chopped cashews (or pine nuts, marcona almonds or hazelnuts)
  • a couple of tablespoons crumbled cheese (goat, feta or blue)
  • maple (or honey) vinaigrette (recipe follows)

It seems silly indeed to instruct on the techniques of putting together a salad, but since kale in the form of a salad has transformed my winter meals to the extent that it has, it would be remiss of me to not at least suggest you add this combo to your repertoire at some point.  I don’t think your well-nourished body will mind a bit.

Maple Vinaigrette

In a jar or a bowl, add

  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp. maple syrup (or honey)
  • 2 tbsp. apple cider or red wine vinagre
  • 3 tbsp. olive oil

and shake.  If using honey, please whisk in a bowl first to help incorporate the sweetness.  Then add to a jar so you can easily use the vinaigrette for salads throughout the week.

Toss with kale leaves and allow to sit for a few minutes so the vinaigrette can soften the kale a bit.  Top with whatever fruit/nut/cheese combo you have chosen and enjoy.  Dressed kale holds up well so make extra for another meal.

You’re going to feel so healthy and satisfied.

Bonne Année!

IMG_1925

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in salads, sides, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Kale Salad

  1. Cynthia says:

    You might consider joining this food blog challenge http://ohbriggsy.wordpress.com/2012/12/21/cook-the-books-challenge/

    might get you inspired to blog again!

  2. Molly says:

    Yum! I have to add this to my healthy eating resolution . 🙂

  3. Sammy says:

    I am addicted to kale now. I don’t feel right unless I eat it at least a few days a week.

  4. megtraveling says:

    Quite a tasty recipe! Happy New Year!

  5. Madeline says:

    I’ve been taking kale salad for lunch, I love this one – I’ll be sure to try it soon!

  6. Sara Louise says:

    I love kale (dark, leafy green veggies are my favorite kind) but it’s practically impossible to find in France 😦

  7. That’s a total bummer Sara. I’m not sure what I’d do without leafy greens. Well I’m sure you have others? Chard perhaps?

Leave a Reply

