Roasted Tomatoes with Shrimp and Feta

I woke up in a panic the other day when I realized that summer is quickly fading and I’ve yet to make Gazpacho.  Or Pesto.  Or Herbed Fish.  Or anything with zucchini or Peach Cobbler* or Tomato BruschettaOr tweak that Watermelon Agua Fresca everyone was so excited about. Arg!

Where did it go?! All I know is this girl has got to get going before it’s all gone.

Fortunately, I did manage to squeeze in this delectable and too-easy-to-pass-up Roasted Tomatoes with Feta and Shrimp. I’ve been making this one for years, only when tomatoes are at their most ripe.  I bet it would be good at other times as well, since roasting usually renders otherwise inedible tomatoes edible.  Don’t have any shrimp?  Just leave it out and you have one delicious side dish.

Serves 4. Adapted from Real Simple magazine.

  • 1 lb. shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 8 medium tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 cup feta, crumbled
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup parsley, chopped
  • 6 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil
  • a dash crushed red pepper

1. Preheat oven to 450°.

2. In a large baking dish, arrange the quartered tomatoes, garlic, then olive oil.  Bake for twenty minutes.

3.  Remove pan from oven and stir in shrimp, parsley, salt, pepper, crushed red pepper and lemon juice.  Crumble feta on top.

4. Return to oven for another 10-15 minutes until shrimp are cooked through.

5. Serve with crusty bread or on couscous.

*Next up:  peach cobbler.  I remedied that problem when I made one for our Great Gatsby book club party.  As for the rest of the list, I’m workin’ on it.  There’s still September and another probable cooking with Barb night.

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in Main dishes, Seafood. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Roasted Tomatoes with Shrimp and Feta

  1. Deryn Johnson says:

    I used to make this dish after you introduced it to me. Now Scott makes it for us at least once per month –love it!

  2. Sara Louise says:

    This looks delicious! Perfect for a warm evening al fresco 🙂

  3. You know, usually your cooking creations are above my ability. I gaze at them and dream of – someone else making them for me. 😉 But this? I think I might be able to do this! In fact, I think I’m going to try! 🙂

  4. La Torontoise says:

    Delicious! Tried it out tonight. Uncomplicated, yet aromatic meal.
    Used fleur de sel, the hand-harvested sea-salt from France,
    ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fleur_de_sel )
    instead of the kosher salt.
    Liza, could you possibly shed some light into how kosher salt is different. I do not find it in local supermarkets in the Netherlands. Please excuse my ignorance, but where to get it from?
    Thank you!!

    • Liza M. says:

      Well, not being a salt expert, I will try to explain as best I can. I’ll also say that if I had any French fleur de sel, I would definitely use that! Kosher is just a coarse salt here, better for cooking than table salt (although I use table salt for baking). I’m glad you like the shrimp and feta. I think I need to make it one more time before tomatoes are all gone!

      • La Torontoise says:

        Liza, thank you! I see a variety of coarse salt types in the supermarket. There is no salt type labelled as ‘kosher’ but I now understand what you mean.

Leave a Reply

