Salade Lyonnaise

This one’s going to be short but sweet (or rather, savory…whatever).  I realized recently that I hadn’t posted in a while due to the yearly and entirely necessary journey into the dark days of low-carb eating.  Ouch.  It really is the best time of year, though, for such an endeavor since 1.) produce is at its most flavorful and lots of that is needed to keep one satisfied, 2.) social plans have wound down for a bit allowing for a break from daily rosé sipping and 3.) after this hot, lazy summer (see #2, and rosé sipping), I simply need to.  There is one bright spot, though, and that would be Salade Lyonnaise.  Who couldn’t get behind a regime that includes salad with bacon and egg, I ask?

The name refers to the city of Lyon which, not coincidentally, we visited on the French Adventure of July 2012.  Though I noticed that this salad was available all over Provence as well, I waited until we reached its home.  I was more than a little pleasantly surprised at how satisfying and flavorful it is.  Which led me to wonder why I hadn’t discovered it sooner and why it isn’t more common in the US?  I mean really, it’s easy and, I repeat, there’s bacon and egg. I took it in a non-traditional way by adding luscious avocado, because for me, this is the summer of the avocado (as all summers should be.)

I served it to Wendy for lunch, at her house, in exchange for her gracious help acquainting me with my new textbook series.  I feel rusty, like I won’t know how to teach anymore without the worn out and outdated textbook I’ve been using for 12 years! (Merci Wendy!)

And by the way here are a few more shots of lovely Lyon.  After 19 trips to France, I finally made it to its gastronomical capital.  You should go too.

Serves 2 as a main dish or 4 as a first course.
  • 4 cups torn lettuce leaves
  • 1/4 red onion, sliced very thin
  • 1/2 pint cherry tomatoes, cut in half
  • 1 avocado, halved and diced
  • 4 slices turkey (or regular bacon)
  • 2-4 eggs, poached (see Deb’s tutorial)
  • vinaigrette of choice (recipe follows)

1.  Cook bacon according to your preferred method.  I simply microwaved it based on package instructions.  Drain on paper towel and set aside.  Before adding to salad, chop.

2. Prepare lettuce, tomatoes and onion and place in large bowl.

3. Poach eggs in almost simmering water, with a touch of vinegar, for 3 minutes.  Drain on paper towel.

4. Add avocado and vinaigrette to salads.  Toss.

5. Place dressed salad on plates and add poached egg to the top.  Serve immediately.

I used the Salmon Cobb Salad vinaigrette but I added a teaspoon of balsamic vinegar, mainly because Joanne Weir had done so on her Create TV show the night before (and I’m a copycat).

  • 1/4 cup champagne vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • juice of half a lemon
  • dash of kosher salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup olive oil

Add all ingredients to a jar and shake.  Do not use ALL the dressing on the salad, use a little, toss, then taste.  If more is needed, continue adding.  If you overdress the salad, add more lettuce.

Finally, make this salad part of your regular repetoire.  It’s too good not to.

Well, maybe not so short (oops!) Now, sadly, I have to return to work tomorrow.  I know.  You all feel so sorry for me.

Bonne nuit.

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in low-carb, salads. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Salade Lyonnaise

  1. Pat Drabant says:

    Make it another good year for yourself and your students.
    The salad looks tasty…

  2. Liza M. says:

    Hmmm…gastronomical, is that a word? I think I meant gastronomic but if I have to deal with editing this post one more time (and the ensuing chaos that that creates), I’ll blow my top. Gastronomical it is.

  3. Wendy says:

    It was a great salad if I may say so myself, I had never had a poached egg before and it was delicious! Good luck with the new textbooks, you’ll muddle through. Just act like you know what you’re doing and the kids won’t know any different, they’ll be half asleep for most of September anyway;)

  4. “A break from daily rosé sipping”?! Unacceptable. 😉 Wonderful photos, by the way!

  5. La Torontoise says:

    Liza, thank you so much! It gave me the learning opportunity to try out the poaching method. I never tried it before.
    I used honey of organic flowers instead of sugar, and fleur de sel, the hand-harvested sea salt from Camargue (South of France) instead of kosher salt.
    The salad turned into just another great delight we had during this vacation month in Provence… thank you!!!
    I wish you a great start of the school year. I am a university teacher in the Netherlands and I leave tomorrow as our academic year starts on Monday.

  6. La Torontoise says:

    PS. Liza, which was the restaurant in Lyon where you had the salad? just in case, it’s not much work to give me the name…
    On my way back to the Netherlands, we make a stop in Lyon and I am willing to try in.

    Thank you again for these inspiring ideas, cooking the salad was very rewarding.

  7. La Torontoise says:

    Liza, thank you so much!! Your message got to me timely. Will write once I’m back home, Maya

  8. Sara Louise says:

    I love putting bacon and egg in my salad! Last night I made a simple salad (that I make often) with just lettuce from my father-in-law’s garden, boiled egg, lardons (because it’s hard to find normal bacon here) and a homemade caesar dressing. It’s always fulling and delicious and bonus, I end up proud of myself for eating a salad for dinner! 🙂

    • Liza M. says:

      I don’t know why that hasn’t taken off more here in the US. We love our bacon and eggs! I’m a huge fan of “salad for dinner” and having one more in the repertoire is always welcome.

  9. La Torontoise says:

    Liza, again, thank you very much for the Lyon restaurant recommendation! Great value for the money!! We found it relatively easily, in the old town of Lyon. Service was quick and efficient. There was kiddy menu (much appreciated by parents with young kids).
    Ingredients were very fresh, good food presentation. I tried ‘andouillette beaujolaise sauce moutarde à l’ancienne’, and my husband went with la quenelle de brochet; both choices were something ‘very Lyon-specific’. Loved it!

    • Liza M. says:

      I’m so glad you liked it! I can’t wait to go back to Lyon and this time spend more than one night just so I can try more restaurants. The ambiance is nice too–I’d like to soak up more of that.

  10. La Torontoise says:

    PS. If some of you happens to be in France on Sept 22, you could enjoy the Second Annual National Fete de la Gastronomy:
    http://www.fete-gastronomie.fr/en/

    Plus, starting next weekend, visitors could benefit from the countrywide pay-one-get-one-free dining-out promotion, known as \’Tous au Restaurant\’:
    http://www.tousaurestaurant.com/en/
    Have a good weekend, M.

    • Sara Louise says:

      I’m so excited about this! I didn’t know about it last year, so I missed out, but I’ve booked lunch in Saint-Remy on the 18th to take part in the Tous au Restaurant 🙂

  11. Liza M. says:

    Sara I hope you blog about it so I can live vicariously!

Leave a Reply

