Book Club Blueberry Mojitos

I’ll admit, I was 100% inspired by the watermelon version of the mojito I had sampled recently at what is surely one of Ann Arbor’s best restaurants, when I decided that we needed these refreshing minty drinks at our upcoming book club.  There’s always plenty of wine (duh) but sometimes a special beverage is in order, especially since it had been over two months since our last meeting (summer gets so busy).

The book was adored by some and misunderstood by others.  We have a tradition of rating our books on a scale of 1 to 10: this particular Pulitzer Prize winner netted a 7.4 for us.  Oh well.  We’ve read better and we’ve read worse.  That’s not the point.  The point is to get together, enjoy some delicious food–in this case, a duo of salads, Roasted Chicken Niçoise and Caprese, spinach dip, cheesy olive Triscuit snacks, couscous and Barb’s delectable dessert (I’ll get back to that tout de suite)–catch up on each other’s lives, maybe talk about the book some and take comfort in a perfect summer afternoon.

The mojito, while being Cuban in origin, is perfect for any afternoon summer get together just about anywhere.  I used this classic version because it seemed to be easy enough to serve 8.  Some versions use simple syrup, but this one used straight sugar shaken with lime and rum.  I simply added blueberries and wished that I had muddled them before the photo, rather than after with my straw.  It was very pretty in its “muddled” state.  So much so that I decided to cheat (!) and muddle some blueberries with water and mint just for the photo (pardon!).  I have to say, though, that water with a bit of mint and blueberries is also a refreshing beverage, of the non-alcoholic variety of course, if that’s what you require or desire.

And while we’re on the subject of book club (aren’t we?), we all think our book club is absolutely magique. We’ve been meeting for over 10 years, we have pretty much the same members we had when we started, except for a one or two who have moved, one who comes from Cleveland (it’s THAT magique again!), and a brand new member, and we do something that (we hear) a lot of other book clubs don’t do:  we all read every book (while this point may seem obvious, we’ve met so many whose book clubs fell apart because people didn’t read the book!)

Another way we’re magical, we read a book and all of a sudden it appears someplace else.  Let me explain.  Many years ago we read Wicked by Gregory McGuire just before everyone else came to know it as the famous Broadway Musical.  When it was picked we had no idea it would have such success.  It goes without saying that we went to New York opening weekend.

We’ve also met a couple of our favorite authors, Philippa Gregory and Carlos Ruiz Zafón.

Another magical moment, seeing our latest pick on display behind the register at Shakespeare and Company.  I’m used to this magic now.  I simply shrugged and thought “of course”.

There’s certainement a lot more magic, but I’ll wax on about that further in upcoming posts, I’m sure.  Here are the mojitos you’ve been so patiently waiting for.

Makes 1 mojito

In a cocktail shaker add

  • the juice of 1/2 a lime
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 shot rum (about 1.5 ounces)
  • ice

In a tall glass add

  • eight or so blueberries
  • eight or so mint leaves, torn
  • ice

After shaking the rum and lime, pour it over the mint and blueberries. Top off and garnish with…

  • club soda
  • a slice of lime
  • a sprig of mint

Serve with a straw.  If you are serving these to a group, it might be easy to skip the shaker step and just add all the ingredients to glasses and stir.  And don’t be like me, muddle your blueberries first with the end of a wooden spoon or, if you have one, a muddler.  The straws serve the purpose of continued muddling, mixing of the desired rum/club soda ratio and keeping too many mint sprigs out of one’s mouth.

I don’t think I’m quite done with the mojito this summer.  I’m thinking a peachy-ginger version might be in order for our next meeting (a mere 3 weeks away!).

And speaking of peaches, I almost forgot Barb’s dessert.  She used the Pioneer Woman’s Apple Dumpling recipe, substituting peaches for the apples and ginger ale for the Mountain Dew (don’t ask me…I only ate it).

If that wasn’t heaven on a plate, I don’t know what is.

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in drinks. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Book Club Blueberry Mojitos

  1. Maeve says:

    What a lovely ode to book club! Seconded! The food and chatter and wine of our group always combine to create something truly, yes, magique. We all outdid ourselves this time for sure! Everything was delicious, and the book discussion was as animated as ever.

    Note to the gentle readers of this blog: The reason there are no pictures of my cheesy olive crackers is that they were SO wildly popular that they were devoured instantly. 😉

  2. Wendy says:

    I agree, our book club is truly special and unique. I can’t believe it has been 10 years, so nice to have a great group of friends to meet up with and enjoy each other’s company, great food and drink, and of course a little bit of reading!

  3. Liza M. says:

    I forgot to mention we are about to read our 83rd book! Actually, I did, and then wordpress did this weird thing and I had to partially start over. Blogging can be frustrating from a technological standpoint.

  4. Molly says:

    Yum! I loved the entire post. Can’t wait to make the Blueberry Mojotos this weekend!

  5. Have fun on your camping trip Molly! I hope the mojitos do the trick.

  6. Liza, great pictures. Loved your stories too. Love the idea of blueberry anything. Mom

  7. Thanks Mom! Look at you commenting away…;)

  8. Sara Louise says:

    Adding blueberries to a mojito is a stroke of genius! 🙂

Leave a Reply

