Chorizo and White Cheddar Quesadillas

There aren’t many ills that a weekend, say, in the middle of Lake Erie can’t cure.  Not for this girl anyways.  I feel a renewed zest for life even from a short one-nighter, especially if it’s to an unknown corner I’ve yet to explore.  Eight of us ferried there to celebrate C’s special birthday in style. 

There was, of course, a beach. 

Actually there were several.

With rocks.

There were glacial grooves, a supermoon, and enough golf carts to keep ladies of all ages and persuasions entertained for hours.

 

There was a bar, with a guitarist, and derby hats, dancing in the sun, and a friend who can sing.  There was a cozy and stylishly equipped old farmhouse.

There were Coronas with lime, lake perch, Chardonnay, bagels with smoked salmon, and lest I forget, an astonishing amount of fruit.  And, because it was Cinco de Mayo, there was also guacamole and these Chorizo Quesadillas with Spring Onions and White Cheddar.  There’s no picture.  You know what quesadillas look like.  Instead, here’s the charming little beach directly across from that there porch.

Adapted, barely, from Donal Skehan’s Kitchen Hero.  Makes 2 large quesadillas.
  • 1/4 cup smoked chorizo, thinly sliced
  • 3 green onions (or red onion) thinly sliced
  • 1 cup sharp white cheddar (I like Cabot), shredded
  • 4 10″ tortillas

Method

This one’s tough.  Ready?  Good. 

Over medium heat, sauté the chorizo and onions until the onions are soft and the chorizo is crisp and browned, about 5 minutes.  Remove from pan and add a tortilla to the reddish chorizo fat (wipe the pan first if there seems to be too much).  Top with 1/2 the cheese and 1/2 the chorizo and onion mixture.  Add another tortillas and cook until quesadilla is browned and crisp.  Carefully flip and cook for another minute or so.  Remove and let sit to firm up a bit.  Repeat.  Finally, cut into 6ths with a pizza cutter or a knife.  Serve with guacamole and blue chips.

And then, poof, it was all over.

 

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in appetizers, snackies. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chorizo and White Cheddar Quesadillas

  1. You had me at chorizo! And then I kept reading and saw you used Donal’s recipe, how fun! Your weekend away sounds fabulous.

    • Liza M. says:

      Ha! I’m probably the only one in Michigan with his cookbook (thanks to all those Irish blogs I read 😉 I was thrilled when he was on the Today show for St. Paddy’s.

  2. wendy says:

    great pics, I could use a “mini-vacation” myself right about now! Sometimes you just have to get some new scenery to get some new perspective and rejuvenate the spirit;)

  3. White cheddar quesadillas are the best ever!!
    Ashley

    • Liza M. says:

      I agree! Can you find White Cheddar there in Provence?

      • Nope, haven’t found it yet. I’m lucky if I can find regular cheddar! That’s even hard to come by the majority of the time 😦

        I was however turned onto Cantal cheese which taste really close to cheddar and is amazing. A blogger friend of mine named Jacqui over at French Village Diaries was the one who got me started on it. Now it’s always in my fridge. I have had to settle for it since cheddar is usually not in the markets here. When it is, though, I buy a whole kilo or more of it!
        Ashley

      • Liza M. says:

        Well, I’m coming in July. I’ll be on the lookout for some Cantal! It’s always good to take a recommendation, but really, can one go wrong with French cheese? Thanks for the tip!

  4. Ashley says:

    looked like a beautiful getaway. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a beach that had rocks like that. I made a chorizo quesadilla recipe of my own that you can check out if you’d like (http://chitownandallaround.blogspot.com/2012/07/recipe-chorizo-quesadillas-with.html). I can’t wait to give your recipe a try for some variation and i’m intrigued to test out white cheddar with it instead 🙂

Leave a Reply

