Ginger Shiitake Chicken with Two Cabbage Asian Slaw

I’m in a bit of a blogging rut, just like Joy.  It happens, I guess.  Spring is here, decent produce is beginning to arrive, I’ve been cooking up a few snazzy meals here and there, but I don’t have a whole lot to say about them, other than the usual round of food-related adjectives:  delicious, tasty, yummy, scrumptious, light, spicy, colorful, heavenly, piquant, savory, healthy.   Get my point?  In fact, if you could inspire me with another adjective or two, that’d be lovely.  I’m blocked. 

So, other than telling you that the inspiration for this recipe, the slaw part rather (I mean, really, the colors are just ridiculous), was a photo  I “pinned”  which led me to this blog, I guess I’ll just get to the recipe and save myself and you the time.

Adapted from Racheal Ray’s 365 and inspired by Once Upon a Chef.  Serves 4.

For the chicken

  • 1 1/2 lb. package boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 package thinly sliced shiitake mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup edamame
  • 1 bunch scallions
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1 2″ piece of fresh ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 4-5 tablespoons honey
  • 4-5 tablespoons tamari soy sauce
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • coarse salt and pepper
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil

Method

First, prepare the slaw (see below) and simmer the edamame according to package directions.  The stir-fried chicken will cook very fast so it’s best to have all ingredients prepped ahead of time.

Next, very thinly slice the chicken breast and mince the garlic and ginger (after slicing the peel off–you could also just grate the ginger with a microplane). Preheat the canola oil in a  non-stick skillet over high heat.  Once the oil is very hot, even close to smoking (but not burning), add the chicken breast and the mushrooms.    Stir fry on high heat for a couple of minutes or until it begins to brown up.  Season with a little salt, lots of pepper and the crushed red.  Turn down the heat to medium and add the ginger, garlic and crushed red pepper.  Continue cooking for about another minute.  Add the scallions and cook for one more minute.  Turn heat to low and add the honey, tamari, lime juice and edamame. Simmer to heat up all ingredients and serve over slaw.

For the slaw

  • 1/2 thinly sliced small red cabbage
  • 1/2 thinly sliced savoy cabbage
  • 1 bunch scallions, thinly sliced lengthwise
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots
  • 1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • cilantro, a generous handful, roughly chopped
  • peanuts, 1/4 cup chopped
  • juice of 1/2 a lime

Mix all (or some, any combination you desire) ingredients in a large salad bowl.  Add the juice of one lime and a little salt.  Depending on how much glaze your chicken yields, you might want to mix up some Asian dressing (such as this one, or this one). 

This is also a really nice slaw for tacos, by the way.  Eliminate the peanuts and the carrots and you’ll have a very colorful taco indeed (I did!).  And you just might feel a wee bit healthier for eating it as such.

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in low-carb, Main dish salads. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ginger Shiitake Chicken with Two Cabbage Asian Slaw

  1. Sammy says:

    I’m trying this one Sunday or Monday. Do you think I can sub olive oil for canola oil?

  2. Liza M. says:

    I doubt it will make a huge difference. It calls for Canola oil because that’s more of a flavorless oil. Olive oil tends to have flavor and burns easily if you heat it on high. But try and let me know how it turns out.

  3. You’re right, the colours of this dish take it out of this world. It reminds me of spring time comfort … I’ll have to give it a try 🙂

  4. louloufrance says:

    This looks absolutely delicious! I can’t find edamame here, but will think of some substitution. Merci!

Leave a Reply

