Maple Blueberry Smoothie

Have you noticed that smoothies have been making a huge comeback lately?  Everyone from  Gwyneth to Bon Appétit magazine has been extolling the virtues of this ever popular blended beverage, combining ingredients such as chocolate and avocado or parsley and banana.  While those are intriguing, I don’t think I’m quite ready to venture into the veggies-with-something-sweet realm of smoothie-making.  For now, I’ll stick with fresh fruit and add a touch of flax seed so I can feel like I’m being healthy as I sip what is essentially a blended dessert.  Recently, even, I’ve been having them as a light and simple dinner on days where I find I’ve had a rather large lunch.

This particular one was inspired by our recent trip to Montréal, where it’s all about maple.  Maple syrup, maple butter, maple suckers, maple crèpes, maple macarons, maple cocktails (!), maple cookies, maple salad dressing…I could go on, I’m sure. 

Flashback to a summer trip to Quebec many years ago where I learned about a very simple and tasty regional dessert; vanilla ice cream + blueberries + maple syrup.  Try serving this combination to guests at your next party.  Call it Crème Glacèe à la Québécoise and you will surely impress them with your simple yet sophisticated ways.  In the meantime, here it is in smoothie form.

Serves one.  Double or triple as desired.
  • 1/2 cup vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt (literally, take plain yogurt and freeze it)
  • 1/4 fresh blueberries
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon flax seed

Blend and enjoy. C’est tout.

 

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in breakfast, desserts, drinks, snackies, vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Maple Blueberry Smoothie

  1. Dessertholic Dad says:

    Liza
    I leave out the milk and faxseed and put walnuts on top, oh yummy!! sometimes I am out of bananas– still yummy.
    Dad

  2. palinura says:

    Sounds delish! (Particularly the original ice cream version, but I’m sure the smoothie’s good too!)

  3. I’m sure the smoothie’s awesome, but I’m loving the original ice cream idea right now. I might have to visit the co-op and get all Quebecoise for dessert tonight!

Leave a Reply

