Broccoli and Chèvre Frittata with Two Onions and Oven-Dried Tomatoes

Tuesday is decidedly not my favorite day of the week.  For me, at my job, it’s even worse than Monday because we have a staff meeting after school.  Staff meetings in general are never good news.  I’ve mentioned this before, (I made a frittata that day too, weird) but they have a way of making one wonder why one chose chosen profession at all.  Last year they attacked our health care (and won).  Now they’re moving on to our retirement.  I’ll refrain from the boring details and say only that it makes for an extremely depressing drive home.  Even the vibrant yellow of the roadside forsythia, the billowing white-blossomed pear trees or the lime green buds couldn’t cheer me up today (I’m sure they will tomorrow).  In short, the future is uncertain.  Qu’est-ce qu’on peut faire? to quote my favorite French language singer.

Lately, the only way to cheer myself up is to retreat into the kitchen and cook something delicious, and these days, inexpensive.  You see, I’ve been doing something I’ve never done before–and it’s kind of fun.  I’ve been “shopping the sales”, meaning, I’ve been perusing the sale ads a week ahead of time and planning my meals methodically around what I have on hand and what’s on sale, which usually translates to what’s in season–a bonus.  Many may be thinking “duh, been doing this for years”, but for me, the hardest part of cooking is planning ahead and getting the ingredients.  The chopping, the slicing, the beating and mixing, not to mention the sizzle of ingredients when they first hit that hot olive oil, all that I enjoy.  Eating a wholesome, preservative-free meal, cooked by moi, well, there’s no better feeling.  This week it was broccoli crowns at .99 cents a pound that drew me in, and being spring (I guess), I’ve been more in the mood for eggs and less in the mood for meat.  Enter this tasty and satisfying Frittata.  The flavors meld surprisingly well and really seem well-tuned as a light dinner entrée, but of course would work as breakfast or lunch the following day. 

  • 1 head broccoli, cut into small florets (asparagus would be an excellent substitute)
  • 1 bunch scallions, white and light green parts, chopped
  • 1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 oven-dried tomatoes, chopped (or sun-dried)
  • 1  4 oz. package goat cheese
  • 8-10 large eggs
  • splash of milk
  • 1 tsp. Herbes de Provence
  • 1 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • 1 lemon zested and juiced
  • salt and pepper

First, heat 2 tablespoons olive oil in a 10″ non-stick skillet to medium.  Add the broccoli, onions, and tomatoes (you could also use fresh tomatoes but drain the juice before adding the eggs).  Season with Herbes de Provence, crushed red, salt and pepper.  Sauté until broccoli is crisp tender and a bit browned, about 7 minutes or so.

Next, beat the eggs, with the splash of milk, until frothy.  Season with about 1/2 teaspoon salt and some pepper.  Mix in the lemon zest.  Squeeze the lemon over the sautéing vegetables and stir.  Add the egg mixture and cook for several minutes.  As the sides begin to come together, using a non-stick spatula, cut a hole in the frittata and allow uncooked egg to slide down and cook.  Do this several times until the frittata is almost set.  Add the crumbled goat cheese.  If you’re not into goat cheese, try Gruyère or even Monterery Jack.  Nothin’ wrong with good old Cheddar either, white or yellow, your pick.

Finally, place frittata under the broiler for a couple of minutes, keeping a close eye to avoid burning.  You want the eggs to cook on top and puff up and brown a bit but attention! Don’t let it burn.  For me, this took about 5 minutes with the rack set in the middle position.

Remove and allow to cool for 3-5 minutes before cutting in. Serve with a side salad and enjoy this frittata’s light and puffy texture as well as its lemony flavor. 

Between this meltingly delicious frittata, un verre de vin rouge and Rick Bayless, my mood is improving by the minute.

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in breakfast, eggs, low-carb, vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Broccoli and Chèvre Frittata with Two Onions and Oven-Dried Tomatoes

  1. wendy says:

    I agree about Tuesday’s…every teacher’s least favorite work day. Looks like a good, healthy dish. The pictures are nice by the way, trying out the new appareil-photo?

    • Liza M. says:

      Ah merci! Not quite yet but I learned a trick about “exposure compensation” so even on the old camera they look a little better! I did play with the new one last night. Man, does it take gorgeous pix, even inside without a flash.

  2. Pingback: Recipes for the week of 4/2 « Undigested Food

Leave a Reply

