Apple Cheddar Quesadillas

Each time I write a blog entry, it takes me about two hours total.  I edit, I tweak, I publish, then I do it all again–and I almost always see an error after publishing, no matter how many times I scrutinize my writing, my grammar, my use of commas (!).  I like parentheses too–did you notice? (And dashes for that matter).  Tonight, I’ve set myself a goal–twenty minutes for this entry and I’m out.  After all, I’ve got Shakespeare Retold to watch (and it’s MacBeth, set in a modern-day Scottish restaurant, with the glorious James McAvoy as “Mac”).

That said, Monday is usually the night I skip dinner, or at least eat lightly.  It’s “sandwiched” (pun intended) between Sunday dinner, from which I usually still have Tuesday lunch leftovers, and Tuesday dinner, which I cannot skip lest I be lunchless on Wednesday.  I’ll admit, my weekly cooking schedule revolves around what I need for lunch because I absolutely cannot abide high school cafeteria food, any sort of tasteless or chewy frozen meal (save for the occasional emergency Kashi), or deli meat of any kind. 

Tonight I was hungrier than usual, craving something substantial and comforting.  Something cheesy.  Constant rain and early darkness does that to me.  I don’t often veer from my meal plan for the week, but I discovered one lonely tortilla in my fridge, along with a bit of leftover onion and an almost-forgotten remainder of a block of cheddar from last week’s chili.  Et voilà, I present you with a ten-minute dinner (or snack) accompanied by a twenty minute blog entry. I swear.

serves 1

1 tortilla

2 tablespoons chopped white onion (or whatever you have, the point here is speed and ease)

1/2 an apple (just eat the other half, maybe with some peanut butter for dessert)

some shredded cheddar

extra virgin olive oil

a dash herbes de Provence

a dash salt and pepper

First, sauté the chopped onion, seasoned with the herbes de Provence and the salt and pepper,  in the olive oil for about 5-8 minutes, or until softened.  The apples could also be sautéed with the onions, which I didn’t do, though I think I would next time to soften them.  Remove from pan and add the tortilla.  Layer one half of the tortilla with the onions and apples, cover with the cheddar (as much as you want really),  fold and cook for about 5 minutes on low or until the tortilla is a bit charred. 

Though I ate these as a light dinner, they’d make an excellent after school snack as well.  They’d also be delicious with gouda, goat or gruyère cheese…or perhaps ripe pears.  Experiment with fall ingredients until you get a combination that’s pleasing to you.

Well, my 20 minutes are up, mistakes or not.  It’s time for a cuppa tea, a few ginger cookies and James–he awaits.

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in sandwiches, Uncategorized, vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Apple Cheddar Quesadillas

  1. Pat says:

    Okay, I like this recipe. Rick is outta here in 2 weeks and I’m looking for simple stuff. This fits the bill. I can do it! Re: James-Boy, we watched him last night in The Conspirator.

    • Liza M. says:

      I haven’t seen that one, Pat. I’ll have to put it in the Netflix list. Thanks for the tip! And good luck with the quesadillas–you can definitely do it!

  2. Wendy says:

    you have inspired me to do some meal planning, I often resort to PB&J or a ham and cheese sandwich for lunch…I refuse to have any of our school cafeteria food either! meal planning in order to have good lunches sounds like a worthy goal. your blog was just as clever with 20 minutes by the way;)

    • Liza M. says:

      Hey, it’s getting time for some “Wendy” faves round here–pot roast, pork chops and peaches, “Rolo” cookies. Don’t be surprised if you’re mentioned once or twice in the coming weeks. Good luck with the meal planning!

  3. Chrissy @ www.myfarefoodie.com says:

    I seem to always have a lone tortilla as well. Great use for it! I heart James McAvoy too – just watched him in X-men!

  4. Liza M. says:

    He was excellent as MacBeth also, very creepy and dark.

  5. Sammy says:

    So happy that small bit of cheese wasn’t left behind.

  6. Liza M. says:

    Were you feeling sad for it? There’s still a bit there if you want to keep it company. (Ok, this is getting weird).

  7. J. R. Brown says:

    You are so creative and expressive. I love your flair. It is nice to see you enjoying giving creative ideas to others. Keep up the good work,

    • Liza M. says:

      Thanks for the supportive comments, Connie! I was going to mention your sauerkraut, cheddar, green apple quesadillas from last year. They were sort of the inspiration. Well, that gives me a chance to write about those at another time. Girrrrlllll…we are going to have so much fun in France!

  8. Barb says:

    James McAvoy . . . MacBeth. . . Oh girlfriend, hottest_thing_ever!

    Oh yeah, and the quesadilla sounds good.

    P.S. Did you watch the Taming of the Shrew episode too?

    • Liza M. says:

      Not yet…that’s on the next DVD. Funny, I put it in my queue after we watched it a couple of years ago (though I can’t say I remember much–ahem), and it just came–We love James!

  9. Clara says:

    All I can say is- why have I not thought of doing this before??? Love this combo I bet pears would be delicious too.

  10. Barb says:

    Hey — I found myself last night in a similar situation with similar ingredients. A low-key Monday after our book club, needing to go simple on dinner but still satisfying and tasty. So I made this, following the your correction to saute the apples a bit. Forgot the herbes de Provence, but did add a bit of cumin. Delicious. Just left you a VM to discuss that and . . . . oven roasted kale chips. I see it’s nothing new amongst the food bloggers and I’ve been meaning to try it for awhile. Success anyway, yum!

Leave a Reply

