Fourth of July Salad

I’m the salad girl in my family.  Each holiday I try to contribute some tasty concoction with greens, nuts, a fruit and some sort of cheese.  This stems from the fact that I really don’t like the typical “dinner salad”–lettuce, cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, maybe some Italian or Ranch dressing.  Not my thing.  A salad either has to be completely without lettuce, aka any version of a “chopped” salad, or just greens dressed with a light vinaigrette.  This particular salad, which I tend to serve on July 4th (maybe it’s the strawberries and goat cheese that look a bit patriotic), was first served at a staff lunch by Molly.  We couldn’t get enough of it.  The important ingredient is, well, store-bought dressing (I know, I know).  But really, this salad just wouldn’t be the same without the sweetness of Brianna’s Blush Wine Vinaigrette.  Also, this year strawberries were replaced with an apple (not very “summery”, but what can I say?  The IGA was OUT of strawberries-gasp!). One might even be tempted to call this “dessert” salad!

1 large container baby greens, spinach or a mix

1/4 thinly sliced red onion

1  4 oz. log goat cheese, crumbled

1 small packet walnuts, chopped

strawberries or an apple diced (any amount you prefer)

Brianna’s blush wine vinaigrette (start with 3 Tbsp. and toss, taste to determine if you need to add more)

You can prepare this salad in advance but don’t add the dressing until just before serving. 

By the way, I spend every 4th of July here:

Harbor Springs

And here:

 
I’m so lucky.
About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in sides, vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

