Grilled Caesar Salad with Lime Anchovy Vinaigrette

A lot has happened in the last week, both in real and virtual life. 

Let’s start with the virtual.  I was beyond surprised–and pleased– to learn that my little ‘ole blog here was the Runner Up for local food blogs in the Ann Arbor Current Readers’ Choice 2012 issue.  Funny thing is, I’m sure I got one vote only, from Maeve, who mentioned she voted for me quite a while ago.  I didn’t even vote for myself, as I was unaware of said contest.  Annoying thing is, they got my URL soooo wrong that I’ve been getting virtually no new traffic as a result.  Hmpf.  The ever supportive friend that she is, Maeve, however, emailed the Current to correct the situation (to no avail unfortunately).

“Hi! I am so pleased that my friend Liza won the runner-up spot for local food blog for 2012 – and she’s right here, super-thrilled too! But could you fix the URL? It should be provenceinannarbor.wordpress.com. That’s ProvEnce (not Province) and WordPress (not Worldpress), and there’s an “in” after Provence. She is very excited about this, and she’d love to get more hits on her blog – and you can help with that by fixing the address in the listing online. :-) Thanks so much! Whoo hoo!”

When that didn’t work, Maeve took matters into her own hands and posted about it on her fabulous lil’ blog, Bitzen Pieces. Take a look (and make sure you scroll down to see the picture!).  Saying she’s got a way with words is an understatement.  So is saying she’s a supportive friend, for that matter. Thanks again Maeve!

A final bit to this story is that I finally got in with the Michigan Lady Food Bloggers.  That’s been a goal of mine, to hook up with local food bloggers and hopefully I’ll be attending one of their events in the near future (thanks go to Cynthia of Mother’s Kitchen for finding me despite the Current’s butchering–hee,hee– of my URL.)

And for the real life component, it’s officially summer (!)–not on the calendar quite yet as you well know, and it’s been summer-like weather for quite a while now as you also well know–but I’m off!  Vive les vacances d’été!  I’m going to try to savor this feeling, the one of hope, promise and lots of sleep in the coming weeks, not to mention a 4th of July annual pilgrimage north and a return to ProvenceThat’d be the real one, not my backyard.  Most of all, I’m going to appreciate that the feeling I had when I wrote this post shall not apply for another 10 weeks.  I know.  I’m lucky.  La vie est belle.

Now it’s finally time for some food, if that’s the reason that you’re in fact here.  There’s been tons of that lately too.  Like these cute little stuffed squash blossoms.  I’ll give you the details later. But aren’t they adorable?

There was Petit Filet with BA’s Brandy Mustard Sauce and Rosemary Trout with Cherry Tomato Sauce.  I simply can’t post it all here but I can vouch for the deliciousness.  Click the links and cook away.

There was also a dinner at Barb’s.  Recipe-testing à deux, if you will, where I mixed up a D I V I N E  Rosemary Gin Fizz that I had spied on Cup of Jo, and which I did not alter in any way as it is pure perfection.

The Rosemary Simple Syrup is also nice mixed with iced tea.

Barb did Ina’s Polenta, and as recipes from Ina seldom do, it did not disappoint.  I’m pretty sure I had a dream about it that night.  She served it with Grilled Flank Steak marinated in this now sadly out-of-business country inn’s  marinade.  Miam.

And since her grill was brand spankin’ new, I christened it by grilling some Romaine Hearts, which for quite some time now has been an intriguing concept for me.  Grilled lettuce?  My family is really going to think I’ve lost it when I present this salad at our annual 4th of July shindig.  Yes sirree.  I can’t wait.

Grilled Caesar Salad

Serves 6.  Dressing adapted from Rachael Ray.
  • 3 romaine hearts, cut in 1/2
  • 2 teaspoons anchovy paste
  • one garlic clove, minced
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 2 teaspoons worchestershire sauce
  • 2 teaspoons dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon hot sauce
  • freshly ground pepper
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • freshly grated parmesan

First, mix dressing ingredients (anchovy paste through olive oil) in a jar and shake.  Set aside.

Next, wipe clean the romaine with a damp paper towel.  Brush with olive oil and season with kosher salt and black pepper, just like you would anything you put on the grill.  Grill over medium heat for about 30 seconds, then flip and grill for another 30 seconds.  What you want here is a slight char on the lettuce only.

Finally, top with dressing and freshly grated parmesan and serve.  It’s astonishingly delicious. 

And lest I forget, we finished the evening with Joy’s Marshmallow Bars.  I swapped the jam for Nutella and bananas.  Oh Em Gee. Her pictures are better than mine.  Look at hers instead.  I will say, though, that since one does not purchase marshmallows in small quantities, or Nutella for that matter, these are going to appear again very soon.

Now that this post is finally coming to an end, I no longer feel like telling you (and that’s a good thing) about how on the last day of school I had to write a two-page narrative defending myself as an “effective professional”.  Nope.  I’m over it now.

About Liza M.

foodie, francophile, Ann Arborite, teacher, bookworm and self-professed latte-lover--come cook with me!
This entry was posted in salads. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Grilled Caesar Salad with Lime Anchovy Vinaigrette

  1. Barb says:

    The glasses really were perfect for the cocktail, and highlighted to truly elegant effect in your photo. Well done on the photography! And now my passion for vintage glassware is reignited . . . time to head to Etsy. The grilled romaine was entirely a revelation. I will say again what I said that night . . . I don’t think I can ever look at cold, raw romaine the same way again. Can’t wait to see the zucchini blossom recipe!

    • Liza M. says:

      I don’t think that drink would have looked half as good in my glassware! I’m with you, I don’t want chilled chopped romaine anytime soon.

  2. Pat says:

    You can cook and serve drinks to me any time.

  3. Pat says:

    By the way, Michelle initiated a transfer to another school, with a classroom not as nice as her current one, because of her principal of 4 or 5 years. She just didn’t want to deal with her for one more year. Administrator/Teacher Conflict: It must be in the air. But those administrators don’t realize whose daughters they are dealing with, do they?

  4. Ack! Sorry, I know I said I was going to email you the info for the MLFB group, glad to see you found it (or it found you) on your own! :)

    Lucky you to be traveling back to Provence, when/where are you going and for how long?

    • Liza M. says:

      No worries Noelle! We are going for two weeks in July–Paris, Provence, Lyon, Annecy. It’s been 4 years since I’ve been to France so I can’t wait!

  5. Congratulations even though it was bittersweet! That’s a bummer that they didn’t even bother to make sure the URL was right?? Duh! At least you got in with the Michigan Lady Food Bloggers. That’s the bomb!
    Ashley

Leave a Reply

